Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

An artist’s rendition of the new state of the art stadium currently being built in Inglewood that will house the Rams and the Chargers in 2019…

 

CELEBRATING TWO HUNDRED ARTICLES ON THIS SPORTS BLOG

I didn’t realize until a couple of weeks ago or so that the number of articles on this site was approaching 200.

That amount of posts on any site or blog needs to be acknowledged.

Being the founder, editor, and main writer of SoCal Sports Annals, I suppose I can feel glad for what has been accomplished here.

Particularly since this is a small site; I never expected it to be as big as Bleacher Report or Fansided, two sites that I wrote for, and it’s not – not even close.

However…

The fact that it has gotten as many as 204 reads in one day and has stayed steady in the daily number of visits,

As well as having nearly 1,100 followers on its Twitter page and over 140 “Likes” on its Facebook page,

Tells me that I’m doing something right.

My ultimate goal for SoCal Sports Annals has changed a bit in its two and half years of existence, as while the major pro and college teams in the Southland will continue to have a presence on this site,

I also want to put more of an emphasis on covering and writing about things that don’t necessarily get any real coverage on the mainstream sites.

 

 

I know this will seem a bit biased of me, being that I’m a UCLA alum, but this video of Sophina DeJesus’ floor exercise routine in 2016 – which went viral – is not only an illustration of my goal to cover things not usually covered, but also of the SoCal team that I enjoy the most. Courtesy of YouTube.

 

The stuff I’ve written about UCLA’s women’s gymnastics program and the various high school and youth baseball teams that play in my area – Los Angeles’ Westside – are  examples of this.

And it’s something that I plan to expand on as it’s on my intent list to cover and write about things like youth soccer – I have a friend whose daughter plays on a club team – and volleyball, both indoor and beach – I have a cousin who’s likewise on a club team.

It’s articles like that which will keep this blog interesting and not merely another site talking about the Dodgers, Lakers, UCLA, USC, and the other major teams in SoCal; stuff that everyone else is covering.

In other words, I don’t want to do anything that’s been done to death, which is why save for the annual Crosstown Rivalry football game between the Bruins and the Trojans, there hasn’t been any previews or recaps of contests on this blog.

Another ultimate goal for SoCal Sports Annals is for it to expand to the point where it can be like an online magazine, complete with a (small) staff of young people for whom this site could be a source of gaining journalism experience.

That would be a very good way for me to help the community.

I suppose there’s not too much else to say, except that it’s my hope and prayer that the next 200 articles are as successful as the first 200.

If you haven’t already, I strongly encourage you to become one of this site’s followers as well as follow us on Twitter http://www.twitter.com/socalshfanatic

And Facebook http://www.Facebook.com/SoCalSportsHub

Trust me when I say you won’t be disappointed in doing so, as this sports fan blog moves forward.

 

Dodger Stadium honoring the jersey number of the best athlete to ever come out of Southern California, period; if you don’t know who that is, I don’t know what to tell you…

