Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

s-l1000

A team picture of the 1978 (then) California Angels, wearing the uniforms that I remember fondly, a look that I wish they would go back to. Photo courtesy of ebay.com

 

AN OPINION REGARDING HOW THE ANGELS’ UNIFORMS LOOKED SO MUCH BETTER FROM THE 1960s THROUGH THE MID-90s, AND HOW THEY NEED TO GO BACK TO THAT LOOK.

 

I must be honest…

One reason why, though I have no ill feelings toward that Orange County-based team, I am more of a Dodger fan than an Angel fan is the uniforms and caps that those Halos wear.

Simply put, I don’t like them.

The Angels’ red emphasis, which began in 2001, just doesn’t appeal to me and to be frank, their uniforms are in my opinion the plainest and ugliest in the American League.

 

shane-victorino-mike-trout-and-kole-calhoun-of-the-los-angeles-angels-picture-id488419856

Baseball’s resident superstar Mike Trout, flanked by Shane Victorino (left) and Kole Calhoun (right), sporting the unis that in my view need to go, especially those caps. Photo courtesy of gettyimages.com

 

I once read how those uniforms looked like an ice cream sundae with a cherry on top.

That cherry – the cap – is in my view what makes the current duds a dud as it has no style, just a red thing with a red “A”.

Maybe I have an animosity toward too much of that color; don’t ask me why.

I was much more of a fan of that team as a kid during the 1970s and 80s, when their uniforms and particularly their caps had more of a navy blue emphasis with red trim.

 

272028301624_1

Nolan Ryan (left), baseball’s all-time strikeouts and no-hitters leader and one of my favorite players growing up, along with two other Angels wearing the cool uniforms of that day; I like the white cleats, too! Photo courtesy of hardpuzzlesforsale.com

 

The fact that some of my favorite players as a little league-aged youngster like Nolan Ryan, Don Baylor and Rod Carew were Angels back then certainly didn’t hurt.

The threads that those Halos wore as a fledgling franchise in the 1960s looked cool as well, with the cap that had that silver halo on top of it.

And the unis that the team wore in the mid-1990s appealed to me too, keeping the navy blue emphasis while making it more classic.

 

1180w-600h_tdid-california-angels-780x440

The Angels’ look in the mid-90s; much better than today if you ask me. Photo courtesy of d23.com

 

The Bottom Line:

I would be a lot more attracted to the Angels if they went back to how they looked in the 60s, 70s, 80s and up to the mid-90s.

Any of those styles will do as I strongly feel that owner Arte Moreno need to go back to more of an original look.

Two word sum it all up as far as my message to that organization with regards to this issue:

GO BACK!

 

screen-shot-2013-08-19-at-12-46-17-590x459

Looking really good with this throwback uni from the early 1990s! Photo courtesy of news.sportslogos.net

 

Of course this is just one person’s opinion – mine.

I’m not expecting the Angels’ look to change anytime soon, but…

One can dream.

 

lynn-baylor-reggie-carew

Great shot of some baseball legends who were big-time stars as well as role models of mine during my formative years (from left): Fred Lynn, Don Baylor, and Baseball Hall of Fame members Reggie Jackson and Rod Carew. Photo courtesy of oneforfive.com

 

